Epiphany

This past weekend, I competed in the Provincial Championship in London, Ontario.  Although the competition shot really well, I personally did not shoot anywhere near my personal best and I was extremely surprised and fortunate to capture the Bronze medal.  I want to congratulate Odelia Wong &  Nataliya Mushchenko who shot extremely well and deserved to win Gold and Silver respectively.

Capturing a medal was a huge surprise and an honor since I do not believe I shot well enough to win. However, the medal was not the best thing to happen this weekend; I had an epiphany.

“An epiphany, from the ancient Greek, is the sudden realization or comprehension of the (larger) essence or meaning of something. The term is used in either a philosophical or literal sense to signify that the claimant has “found the last piece of the puzzle and now sees the whole picture,” or has new information or experience, often insignificant by itself, that illuminates a deeper or numinous foundational frame of reference.” Wikipedia

I have been struggling all outdoor season to understand why my scores have not gained the ground I have expected and I have not reached the heights I wanted. I practice regularly, almost 6 days a week averaging 100 arrows a day.  I shoot well at home and in practice however, this has not translated to higher tournament scores.

At first, I thought it was my late start for the outdoor season, then equipment, then location, then injury, however it was none of these. It was the space between my mental game.

A target is a target is a target. No matter what, I just need to shoot the target.

I was not shooting the target, I was over analyzing every shot. I just need to shoot the target no matter where I am, and not micro-analyze the wind, the location, the whatever. Just shoot the shot strong.

“Mental toughness can take you to the top, and mental weakness straight to the bottom.” John Schiefer

Now I know what the problem is, and I can overcome it.

3 thoughts on “Epiphany

  1. Thanks for the kind words Jordan, I received huge support from my Canadian team mates in Austria. At my age this may have been my last chance to win the worlds championships. I am sorry you didn’t shoot your best this time but you have a long future ahead of you in archery and I have seen you shoot some awesome scores. Good luck in the future!

Leave a Reply

